The Negatives to losing weight – Part 2: Seriously, it’s not all compliments

Continued on from Part 1

The negatives of weight loss. Seriously, there are some:

  • I am not comfortable talking about my body with people I work with. It’s no more comfortable to me to be talking about my lack of arse than it is how big and fat my arse is. Discussing something with my family and friends? Fine. LOVE it, since they’re so happy for me, and so encouraging, and so full of great advice. In a professional setting? No. And it’s unavoidable when you start losing big numbers.
  • I no longer fit into ANY of my clothes. The assumption is when you lose weight, that your new size whatever will be the same as your old size whatever. It isn’t. You will lose weight in different areas that you put them on. This time round, I have lost weight rapidly off my legs (seriously, I look like I am wearing clown pants) and décolletage area, with it now coming off my face and waist. But my stomach? Still resisting. So clothes that fit me when I was this size last time swim on me in some areas, and are too tight in others. My “fat clothes” literally fall off me.
  • My weight loss is kind of like a teenage boy in reverse. I cannot buy new clothes fast enough to keep up with my loss. I’ve lost 15 kilos in less than six months. I bought a great pair of jeans five weeks ago, and now they’re swimming on me. I hate wasting money, and not being able to fit into things I loved two weeks ago.
  • Trying to explain that I’m not on a diet without coming across like a smug git. Try telling someone that you’ve lost 23 kilos and counting and yes, I made this fudge, and yes, I’m still eating and making and loving fudge and desserts. More than one person has actually accused me of taking weight loss drugs.
  • Wedding dress alterations are not all that much fun. Also, expensive. The alterations on my dress now total more than the dress itself cost. Granted, I got an absolute bargain on the dress, but still. The seamstress actually told me to stop losing weight. I get married in August, and there’s concern the side-seams will have to come in. That will cost another $180. And every time something is done to it, there’s a chance something will go wrong.
  • I do not like the assumptions about why and how I am losing weight. I’m not losing weight for the wedding, I’m not losing weight for my appearance, I’m not taking a weight-loss drug. I do not follow a points system. I haven’t cut out carbs. The assumptions about how and why I am losing weight are as offensive to me as suggestions as to how and why I am overweight. My body is frankly none of a strangers business. I talk about it here, because this is my space. I choose the course of the dialog, and how much of my body features in it. I find assumptions invasive.
  • Health care professionals who try and take credit for my weight loss, or insist that some healthcare professional somewhere must be responsible. I have not seen anyone to aid in my weight loss. My GP suggested a dietitian, as did my Gyneo, but I haven’t been to see one. I figure any weight loss I manage has to be maintained by me, so I need to get there myself.
And last, but by no means least, the assumption that I will now be an ambassador for weight loss to others, and that I’ll tell other people how to do it, or even that I’ll tell them that they should. In short, people assume that now I’m losing weight, I’ll tell other people how easy/necessary/awesome it is to do the same. It’s not easy. For me it is necessary, but that doesn’t mean it’s necessary for everyone. Or even that if it was, I’d be telling others what to do. 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Negatives to losing weight – Part 2: Seriously, it’s not all compliments

  1. Shelley says:

    Hey, loving the new blog. Seems to be very cathartic for you. PCOS is a bitch of a thing to have though you seem to be managing it well (from a totally non medical person who only knows a tiny bit about it).

  2. everydaykeri says:

    Thanks, Shelley. I’m still feeling my way, but yes. I’m finding it’s quite cathartic.

  3. narcoticmusing says:

    What a fabulously refreshing account. Thank you for sharing; helps me feel normal that I’m not the only one that feels similarly (obviously not the same but I certainly related to much of what you said). I particularly related to not fitting into old clothes; not wanting to talk to colleagues about it at all; and the constant assumptions and expectations that I explain myself.

    PS – the make up trial looked fabulous; all the best for the big day

  4. everydaykeri says:

    Thanks! There’s a big expectation out there that the closer you get to the “norm” the happier you will be and the less problems you will have. Which is of course, total pap.

  5. narcoticmusing says:

    It becomes particularly difficult if your rationale isn’t necessarily weight loss but the weight loss is a benefit – an expected one but nonetheless not the deal breaker. So my goal was to be healthier. Sure I was thrilled to have weight loss too, but it wasn’t the basis. No one wants to accept that; particularly when you are still in the ‘overweight’ category.

Leave a Reply

